Less salt, more spices!

20 Feb

It is a common fact that Americans eat too much salt. You can blame the fast food or the frozen dinners but it’s a growing issue and it only gets worse with age as it can lead to a whole magnitude of health problems. Consequently, one of my new year’s resolutions was to decrease my consumption of salt. It’s tough thing to do because salt makes food so good! It’s difficult but I will only add a dash of sea salt to my kitchen creations when necessary!

Anyway, I came across this article on Men’s Health and it’s a short and sweet summary of The Perfect Spice Rack. I will definitely use this guide to flavor my future kitchen adventures and to figure out the best health benefits of each spice. I strongly recommend it to you too!

Before I go, I want to share with you the benefits of my favorite spice… the lovely garlic 🙂

“A compound called allicin helps give garlic its cure-all profile. Allicin is a strong antibacterial and antifungal, linking garlic to lower cancer rates, stronger cardiovascular systems, and decreased fat storage and acne inflammation.”

Garlic rules!!

Leave a Reply

