Leaning Sideways at the Hitching Post

19 Feb

The Hitching Post
Buellton, CA

Do we have any Sideways fans here?! Since we were wine tasting in Santa Ynez, we couldn’t just not stop at the famous Hitching Post!!
Our party of four did not have a reservation on a busy Saturday night so unfortunately we had to wait an hour before we were seated. So it would be in your best interest to make a reservation if you are planning to visit -_- I had a glass of their pinot noir while waiting, not sure which one it was but meh, I don’t think I would be a fair judge since I had been wine tasting the whole day =X

And now onto the food!

image

Grilled Artichoke
Our most popular appetizer, unique smoke flavor from the grill, seasoned with Magic Dust (blend of salt and spices) and served with a spicy smoked tomato mayonnaise

I love love love artichokes!
The smoky grilled flavor with the Magic Dust definitely kicked things up a notch for this artichoke. The mayonnaise was delicious; I could just eat that mayonnaise all day with every meal. Yes, it was that good. Apparently you can buy a jar of their smoked tomato pesto and make your own so that is definitely a possibility! For $10.95, there should be at least two artichokes.

image

Roasted Garlic
Slow roasted to a soft and smooth texture so you can spread it on toast with herbs and roasted peppers

Most of my friends know that I am a hardcore fan of garlic so of course this dish is a winner… but I really felt like I could’ve done this at home… and I have done this at home. (Email me if you want the recipe.) Roasted garlic is roasted garlic.

image

Filet Mignon
The rarest & most sought after cut. Prized for its fork-cutting tenderness and enhanced flavor from our grill.  This entree also included garlic bread, an organic mixed green salad and the soup of the day, add $1 if you want the shrimp cocktail.

The filet mignon… oh my goodness… the filet mignon…
I usually avoid steak because I need to have my red meat well done. It’s usually a dry, tough-to-chew piece of meat. BUT this well done filet mignon was so tender, with its juices oozing as I cut each piece… it was simply divine. That cow’s death was not in vain because I definitely celebrated the entirety of its life in this one sitting. The French fries and garlic bread were well seasoned and complemented the awesome-ness of this steak too. And my 5 oz steak for $27.95 included salad and soup. Not a bad deal at all.

Grand Master Foodie says…. FIVE OUT OF FIVE STARS
We should’ve made reservations… please learn from our mistake.
Good service and delicious food makes me a happy lady ;)

2 Responses to “Leaning Sideways at the Hitching Post”

  1. susan November 5, 2012 at 8:26 am #

    Hi,
    I too am crazy about that artichoke at the Hitching Post. Do you have a recipe for the Magic Dust? If so, I’d love to have it!
    Thanks,
    Susan

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

